Best Friend

My best friend from high school visited me for a day out here in Portland. She lives and works very hard in busy and big Chicago. We hadn’t seen each other in over a year or two, so needless to say we had lots to catch up on. 

I was a bit anxious the days prior to her arrival in my newfound home. I should point out I often get anxious due to visitors, but my best friend? I was surprised with myself. 

I thought it through (and thought it through some more).

I was anxious because each of our lives are and have been eagerly transformed around what we are passionate about. In cliche terms, we are in the beautiful process of “finding ourselves”. We are not the same inexperienced, 18 year old girls in small, parent (republican) opinionated, Iowa. 

We have our own opinions and experiences now. Which we both had the pleasure of learning about yesterday.

Cheers to lifelong friends, which we are continuously going to learn and grow from. 

Leave a Reply

