Here

I close my eyes I open them and see my phone being viciously thrown at the white wall, going dark and shattering into tiny pieces

I close my eyes I open them and see him in my face, drunkenly screaming that I think I am better than him

I close my eyes I open them and see her swinging an empty chair towards him

I close my eyes I open them and see myself slouched on the living room couch, tears like a waterfall down my face because of some fight they had 

I close my eyes I open them and see him shoving a drug parachute down my throat before we enter the rave gates

I close my eyes I open them and see the shot glass empty in the sink but her eyes filled with miserable memories patiently waiting to cast her blame 

I close my eyes I open them and see her cooking in her cocina en España telling me “solamente español en mi casa, no ingles”   (Only Spanish in my house, no English)

I close my eyes I open them and see a beautiful man taking my hands in his and swinging me around, dancing and whispering in my ear

I close my eyes I open them and see myself sitting in a home library full of encyclopedias, novels and books by the hundreds 

I close my eyes I open them and I am here

I close them again

IMG_0076_2IMG_0017_2IMG_0080FullSizeRender

One thought on “Here

  1. I close my eyes I open them and see
    An apple bong being carved out in Kale’s Deli

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    A bomb-ass blonde in the passenger seat smoking with me

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    A life long friendship forming in front of me

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    Driving tipsy to Tasha’s Halloween while rapping Jay-Z

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    This just-turned-21-year-old making a breakfast sandwich named Emily

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    All of a sudden she’s gone, studying abroad, she’s free

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    A year has flown by, it’s the middle of 2015

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    It’s been long, but she still remembers me, Antoine Lee

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    One day you coming back home, here to Hawai’i

    I close my eyes I open them and see
    Us runing to my truck to take a shot at Jen Hee’s dirty thirty

    Anyways, I miss you Emily. If you ever want to come back for a weekend or something, I will more than gladly pay for your flight and let you stay at our place. Slowly but surely im staring to save, and if I cant get myself to leave here, I would love for you to visit some day. I know you’re busy with school and family and bf and work, but just so ya know, you’re always welcome here! Alrighty, I hope you have a Wonderful day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

